Obscure Sound blog

  1. “Lewis” is an understated, beautiful track with jangly guitar-pop appeal from Teal Moss, the project of writer/producer Steven Fischer. This track comes via the Denton, TX-based (though soon moving to Los Angeles) project’s upcoming LP, Dewy. “Lewis” itself is dedicated to a “very old doggo friend” of the same name. Hazy guitar jangles are accompanied […]

    The post Teal Moss – “Lewis” appeared first on .

  2. “The Work” begins with murky engrossment, as lingering strings permeate alongside minimalist percussion and sporadic vocals. Exuberant brass emerges from the darkness, for just a moment, shortly after the one-minute mark. By now, the atmospheric prowess of this duo — comprised of Jon Weston and Anton Patzner — clearly shows. They form the project Fevrmoon, […]

    The post Fevrmoon – “The Work” appeared first on .

  3. Aubrey Plaza by Ugly Ghost Described as a track that’s “about the moments you miss when you aren’t present in the moments you’re in,” “Aubrey Plaza” is a consuming new track from Providence-based lo-fi rock act Ugly Ghost, the project of multi-instrumentalist and producer Jake Perreault. He previously impressed with the very catchy track “Text […]

    The post Ugly Ghost – “Aubrey Plaza” appeared first on .

  4. UK guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Will Newman impresses on new track “Bite My Lip,” touting an aesthetic that successfully merges several stylistic influences. There’s a shoegaze-y feel apparent in the gliding guitars and serene vocals, while still retaining a clear-sounding mode of production and contagious melody — aesthetically comparable to Wild Nothing, The War on Drugs, […]

    The post Will Newman – “Bite My Lip” (feat. Sophia Lyons) appeared first on .

  5. Casey Chandler’s Galapaghost project again impresses with “Jellyfish,” where aquatic, twinkling synths combine with mellow vocals for a very pleasant listen. Whereas the project had a prior emphasis on more folk-leaning sounds, as evidenced in prior features, “Jellyfish” shows a firmer commitment to the electronic side of things, in the vein of Beck. The track […]

    The post Galapaghost – “Jellyfish” appeared first on .